Campus Dining

News

Dining news, upcoming special events and responses to your suggestions

Use our E-Suggestion Box for a response within 7 days or posted on our blog below.


 

January 29, 2016

 

"We should have wheat free soy sauce"

We do! We stock Tamari Sauce, a gluten free Japanese soy sauce in bottles in the "Grab & Go", near the Greek Yogurt.

[Tiger Cooler]"Please get vegan cheese for the pizza. Daiya is a good brand."

We have tried offering vegan cheese on more than one occassion, and usage was too low to prevent loss. However, it has been a long time since the last attempt, and products have improved, so perhaps its time to give it another go. We will look into possible brands through our current suppliers.

"Can the marketplace get back the NuGo slim vegan protein bars with 17 grams of protein? They had them last year and they were great(:"re

...

Read More

January 15, 2016

"Is the rice at the grill actually just rice and water or is there something else in it too?"

Just rice (the variety may vary) and water.

"Would it be at all possible to not put oil in all the pasta? I know you can order no extra oil for your individual order, which I appreciate, but there is still already oil put on all the pasta. Thanks!"

-and-

"Could the pasta be made without any added oil please? It would be so much healthier without oil."

The small amount of oil we add (a...

Read More

January 8, 2016

Each club event where food is served must have a member in attendance who has completed Campus Dining's food safety class

The class will provide guidelines for purchasing, preparing and serving food safely for club events, based on USDA recommendations for volunteers, and the California Food Code. Oxy's Catering Policy will also be explained. This is NOT a state or national food safety certification program (such as ServSafe®).

There is only one spring class - reservation is required:

Thursday February 11 12noon - 1pm JSC Commons, 2nd Floor, JSC North

... Read More

December 1, 2015

"We'd love if the Cooler could stock Fruit by the Foot and Gushers!"

We are happy to say that Fruit by the Foot was in stock in the Cooler within 10 days of your request. Enjoy! Gushers, however are not stocked by any of our suppliers.

"Get Quest Protein Bars!!" 

The Quest Protein Bars that we can obtain would be much more expensive than any of our other protein bars. Have you tried the "Think Thin" bars in the Marketplace? Like Quest Bars they contain 20 grams of protein, and they are quite tasty.  

"Hi! As a gluten-free vegan, I LOVE when the marketplace has vegan vegetable soups. I get very sad when the only soup options are either meat or vegetarian with dairy. I LIVE on the marketplace's fresh soup, and I know many other that do--so it'd be awesome if there...

Read More

November 30, 2015

Information to help you plan your purchases in Campus Dining for the remainder of the semester.
 

All meal money(board) plans are valid through 7:30pm on Saturday December 12, 2015
 
You may check your remaining balance by asking any cashier, or by enrolling in MANAGE MY ID. Please take a moment to check out the meal plan usage signs posted in the Marketplace, or to look at this chart.

DEPLETED FUNDS: If you deplete all your meal plan and vending funds (see below) you may add deposits via ...
Read More

November 23, 2015

Holiday hours for November 24-29, 2015

The Coffee Cart will be Closed 11/24 – 11/29

Wednesday November 25
Marketplace 7:30am - 7:30pm
Tiger Cooler Closed

Thursday November 26
Dining Facilities Closed
Dinner in Samuelson Pavilion
(by advance sign-up with REHS)

Friday November 27 & Saturday November 28
Tiger Cooler 11am – 8:30 pm
Marketplace Closed

Sunday November 29
Regular Marketplace & Tiger Cooler Hours Resume

Have a Safe & Happy Thanksgiving!!

Read More

November 13, 2015

"Hi! Will you be restocking the teas? The cinnamon one is my favorite and I miss having it every morning!! :)"

-and-

"Hi! I noticed that in the last week or so, the Marketplace has changed what type of tea bags they use - no comment on the tea flavor or anything thus far, but I've noticed that while the tea bags have changed and are now contained in packages that are not compostable, the "garbage" can next to the coffee and tea station still has a green, compost-friendly liner. I feel like this bag is going to be placed in a compost bin even though it contains non-compostable material (i.e. the bags that hold the tea)....

Read More

October 30, 2015

"do you sell any vegan bagels anywhere?"

For strict vegans, the answer, alas, is no. As posted on signs in the Marketplace and Tiger Cooler, while many of the bagel flavors we carry do not contain eggs or dairy products, they do contain a very trace amount (less than 1ppm) of the dough conditioner L-cysteine, which comes from animal sources. A little over a year ago we put pressure on our current sources and also looked for other sources, and were not successful in obtaining an entirely vegan bagel from a supplier that met all our criteria. We're still looking and hoping. 

"Could you please stock the unsweetened vanilla almond milk instead of the sweetened?"

We carry both - although the unsweetened may have been out of stock at the time you wrote. If something is not on the shelf, please ask a supervisor or cashier, we'll be happy to check for you!

...

Read More

October 16, 2015

"does the bulk milk (over by the cereal dispensers) come from cows treated with rBGH, is it organic?"

Our bulk milk comes from Driftwood Dairy in El Monte. The milk comes only from cows not treated with rBST, also known as BGH. It is not organic. We are not able to obtain organic milk in bulk packaging.

Learn about Driftwood Dairy, a family owned business since 1946.

Learn about our other suppliers.

"...

Read More

October 2, 2015

"Which cereals are vegan? Does the Kellogg's granola have milk powder in it?"

For starters, the Kellogg's Lowfat Granola does contain milk powder.

When we received your question we jumped into the research - on our own and also by writing to General Mills and Kellogg's. General Mills has not responded yet. Here's the answere we received from Kellogg's: 

"We do not label the majority of our products vegetarian or vegan because there are varying definitions for these terms. For example, vegetarians may or may not choose to eat seafood, dairy products, or eggs. Vegans do not eat any animal products or by products, including milk, butter, cheese, eggs, and sometimes honey. Therefore, we encourage you to review the ingredient label to determine if the product meets your individual needs....

Read More

Pages

  • Office: Johnson Student Center, 2nd Floor
  • phone: (323) 259-2629
  • e-mail: dining@oxy.edu