Samantha B. Bonar

Occidental College has named its 2018-2019 Science Scholars, four of Occidental's best students in the fields of biochemistry, biology, chemistry, cognitive science, geology, kinesiology, physics and psychology.

Students submit detailed proposals for independent research projects. Winners are selected by a faculty committee consisting of the chairs of the eight participating departments. The 2018-19 recipients are:

·      Anne Marie Crooke '19, a biochemistry major from London. She will be working with Assistant Professor Jeff Cannon in chemistry.

·      Joseph Najjar '19, a chemistry major from Santa Fe, will be collaborating with Associate Professor Andrew Udit in chemistry.

·      Charlotte Cullip '19, a chemistry and computer science double major from Harbor Springs, Mich., will be working with Professor Mike Hill in chemistry.

·      Scott Nishioka '19, a biochemistry major from Honolulu, will be working alongside Assistant Professor Cheryl Okumura in biology.

Funded by the Kenneth T. and Eileen L. Norris Foundation and the Fletcher Jones Foundation, the highly competitive awards provide a total of $15,000 in support through the junior and senior years for up to four students each year.

In spring of their junior year, each scholar receives a $2,000 study grant. For the summer following their junior year, they receive a study grant of $6,000 plus free on-campus housing and a meal plan so that they may participate in Occidental’s Summer Research Program at no cost. In their senior year, they receive a study grant of $4,000. They are also each allotted $3,000 for research expenses and professional travel.

The scholars are expected to participate in part-time research activity (10 hours per week) during the junior year spring semester; conduct full-time research for 10 weeks during the summer following the junior year; and participate in part-time research (10 hours per week) during their senior academic year. They prepare interim reports after spring, summer and fall, and a final report for their donating foundation in May of their senior year.