The Communications Office
Occidental students at the Student Leadership Awards in Los Angeles

Occidental students, faculty and staff celebrate the annual tradition of Student Leadership Awards.

Outstanding student leaders, organizations, faculty and staff mentors across campus are being honored this year with testimonials from their nominators. Sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs, this year’s recipients were nominated by students, staff and faculty within four categories: Endowed Awards, Individual Student Leadership Awards, Individual Faculty and Staff Awards, and Student Organization Awards.

Endowed Awards

These awards recognize outstanding student leaders for their commitment to the campus community with a scholarship.

The Charles W. List Award recognizes first-year students who have demonstrated leadership, character and personality, maturity of purpose and high ideals.

Nury Calderon '27


The Cynthia Cox Memorial Award is given to an outstanding sophomore student who exhibits high scholarship and moral character as well as contributions to student life and the general welfare of the College.

Jean Meyer '26


The Daniel Stewart Hammack Memorial Award is given to an outstanding junior who has demonstrated high scholarship, strong moral character, loyalty to the ideals of the College, and contribution to student life and the welfare of the College.

Sofia Guerrero Gonzalez '25


Individual Student Leadership Awards

The Unsung Champion Award recognizes a student from any class level whose behind-the-scenes work has proven invaluable to the success of a project, program, cause, or initiative.

KoKo Kosek '25

Shae Campbell '25


The Emerging Student Leader of the Year Award honors an outstanding first-year or sophomore student who exhibits strong leadership potential early on in their time at Occidental.

Lily Pesikoff '26


The Capstone Leader of the Year Award honors an outstanding junior or senior who served as a peer mentor and demonstrated an understanding of how to create change within an organization or community.

Mashly Martinez '24

Nicholas Solimene '24


Individual Advisor and Supervisor Awards

The Student Organization Advisor of the Year Award recognizes faculty, staff, administrators, or alumni who serve as an organization advisor outside of their normal duties and provide outstanding support to the organization.

Ben Greenberg, associate director of Jewish student life


The Student Worker Supervisor of the Year Award recognizes an administrative, staff, or faculty member who has had a positive impact on students through their work as supervisors.

Lizzy Denny, Project S.A.F.E. director


Student Organization and Program Awards

The Community Impact Award recognizes student-led group projects, campaigns, initiatives, or movements that have worked to strengthen the relationship between Oxy and the surrounding community.

Boundless Brilliance


The Student Organization Program of the Year Award recognizes a club that has contributed positively to the campus community and embodied the highest standards of program planning, implementation, and evaluation.

Organization: First-Gen Low Income Student Union (FLISU); Program: FLISU Career Workshop


The Student Organization of the Year Award recognizes a student organization that has consistently made positive contributions to the campus and encouraged leadership throughout its membership. Through diverse programming and initiatives, the group must have demonstrated fiscal stewardship and affected the community through intentional co-sponsorships and collaborations.

Latine Student Union