Dean’s Award Winners 2019

Laura Paisley

On Tuesday, April 30, five members of the graduating Class of 2019 received a Dean's Award at the Student Leadership Awards ceremony.

Each year, the Dean of Students recognizes seniors who, through their involvement on- and off-campus, embody Oxy's four pillars of Equity, Excellence, Service and Community. The College recognizes these exceptional undergraduates for their passion, dedication, hard work and commitment to the Oxy community and beyond.


Community: Rahsaan Middleton 19
A biology major, Rahsaan has worked to build community on campus through his involvement with the Muslim Student Association.





Equity: Manjun Hao 19
A Diplomacy & World Affairs major, Manjun is motivated to create equitable spaces and experiences for international students, and celebrating international identities on campus.




Equity: Diego Zapata 19
A biology major with an environmental science concentration, Diego is committed to sustainability and drawing on both science and policy to build healthy, equitable communities.




Excellence: Anna Palmer 19
A sociology major, Anna has devoted her college career to community-based collaborations, mentorship, social justice and academic research.





Service: Jacques Lesure 19
Having designed his own interdisciplinary major, Resistive Education in Theory, Research and Policy,  Jacques is passionate about ensuring positive life outcomes for youth through equitable education systems.





Read about other 2019 Student Leadership Awards

Contact News
Jim Tranquada
Director of Communications and Community Relations
Office: (323) 259-2990