Sexual Misconduct Policy Update

As part of the College’s continuing effort to improve its response to reports of sexual misconduct, we are pleased to announce the completion of a revised sexual misconduct policy. Effective Monday, February 8, 2016, this new policy will replace the interim policy adopted in August 2013. 

The revised policy is the result of the Campus Committee on Sexual Responsibility & Misconduct (CCSRM)’s review of recommendations made by the 2013-14 Sexual Misconduct Advisory Board (SMAB); feedback received from the public Q&A sessions the CCSRM held in October; comments made on the CCSRM’s online feedback form; relevant provisions of the latest state and federal legislation; technical assistance from the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Civil Rights; and the October 2014 Pepper Hamilton report. 
Under the new policy, one investigator (in some cases two investigators) will investigate and adjudicate complaints using a process that will allow both the complainant and respondent to review and comment on the evidence gathered before a decision is made.  A complete summary of the changes can be found here.  
The revised policy is the product of the dedication and hard work of dozens of students, faculty, staff and alumni. We thank the members of the CCSRM:  Associate Dean for Research and Professor of Geology Scott Bogue; Assistant Professor of Critical Theory and Social Justice Heather Lukes; Associate Professor of Sociology Richard Mora; Associate Professor of Diplomacy & World Affairs Movindri Reddy; Professor of Psychology Anne Schell; Dana Michels ’16; Brian Erickson ’16; Katelyn Fink '19; Clery Act Compliance Coordinator Veronika Barsegyan; Project SAFE Manager and Survivor Advocate Karla Aguilar; Project SAFE Program Coordinator and Prevention Education Specialist Marianne Frapwell; Emmons Student Wellness Center Director Sara Semal; Athletics Department Service Coordinator Olivia Sabins; former Executive Director of Financial Aid Maureen McRae Goldberg; Dean of Students Case Management Coordinator Vivian Garay Santiago; and Victor Clay, Chief of Campus Safety.
We also thank the members of SMAB: Professor of Critical Theory and Social Justice Donna Maeda; Associate Professor of Critical Theory and Social Justice Mary Christianakis; Diana Ortiz ’14; and Hailey Jures ’14. 
The CCSRM will continue to meet to provide feedback on policy implementation and other Title IX office initiatives. The College will follow all changes in the law and review new best practices as they develop with the goal of maintaining a clear and effective policy that fosters a campus climate free of discrimination and harassment.
Jonathan Veitch
Ruth Jones
Associate Dean, Title IX Coordinator