The Sterling Award is bestowed annually to one or more members of the faculty in recognition of strong teaching and service to the College, and in particular, distinguished professional achievement, either in the form of significant publication, creative work, or public performance.

This endowed fund was established in 1972 in memory of Mr. Sterling, a member of the Board of Trustees from 1948 to 1972, and a former Chairman of the Board. Past recipients of the Sterling Award include:

2000-01 Warren Montag Professor of English  
2001-02 Tetsuo Otsuki Professor of Chemistry (deceased)  
2002-03 Jean Wyatt Professor of English  
2003-04 Linda Besemer Professor of Art & Art History  
2004-05 Jennifer Quinn Professor of Mathematics  
2005-06 Xiao-huang Yin Professor of American Studies  
2006-07 Margaret Rusmore Professor of Geology  
2007-08 Nancy Dess Professor of Psychology  
2008-09 Gabrielle Foreman Professor of American Studies  

Dennis Eggleston

Amy Lyford

Professor of Physics

Professor of Art & Art History

2010-11 Mike Hill Professor of Chemistry  
2011-12 Gretchen North Professor of Biology  
2012-13 Daniel Snowden-Ifft Professor of Physics  
2013-14 Robert Gottlieb Professor of Urban & Environmental Policy  
2014-15 Eileen Spain  Professor of Chemistry  
2015-16 Scott Bogue Professor of Geology  
2016-17 Sharla Fett Professor of History  
2017-18 Lisa Sousa Professor of History  
2018-19 Dolores Trevizo Professor of Sociology  

Mary Beth Heffernan

Arthur St. Aubin

Professor of Art and Art History

Professor of Spanish and French Studies

2021-22 Anthony Chase Professor of Diplomacy and World Affairs  
2022-23 Shana Goffredi Professor of Biology