Curious about awards and honors for economics students? See award descriptions below.

Professor Teaching and Research Areas Office Office Hours (Fall 2023)
Bevin Ashenmiller

Environment, Recycling, Energy, and Climate Policy

Fowler 224

T/Th 4:30-6pm

Lesley Chiou Industrial Organization, Information and Technology, and Arts & Media Markets  Fowler 221 M 1:30-2:30pm; Tu 3:05-4pm; Th 12-1pm
Daron Djerdjian Trade, Political Economy, Development, and Austrian Economics Fowler 413

MWF 12:50-1:50pm

Jorgen Harris Labor and Economics of the Family Fowler 208

M 9:30-10:30am, T 11:45am-12:45pm, Th 4-5pm

Andrew Jalil Macroeconomics, Economic History, Financial Crises, the Great Depression, and Food Sustainability Fowler 215 M 3:30-4:30pm; W 10:35-11:05am; F 12:45-1:15pm. Additional rotating office hours each week posted here.
Brandon Lehr Microeconomic Theory, Public Economics, and Behavioral Economics Fowler 217

T 3:45-5:15pm; W 2:30-4pm

Mary Lopez Labor, Immigration, Race, Gender, and Poverty Fowler 214

On leave

Jesse Mora International Trade, Development, and Applied Microeconomics Fowler 222

On leave

Diana Ngo Applied Microeconomics, Development, and Health Fowler 213

M 1:00-2:00pm in person, W 2:00-3:30pm in person, Th 11:45am-12:15pm Zoom (Passcode: ngo)

Daryl Ono Accounting and Corporate Finance Fowler 206 T/Th 8-8:30am
Victoria Umanskaya Environmental & Resource Economics and International Trade Fowler 412 On leave
Kevin M. Williams Education, Applied Econometrics, Data Science, and Labor  Fowler 225 On leave


The economics department recognizes its majors with a number of awards each year:

  • Bennett W. Schwartz Award . This award is given to a graduating senior majoring in Economics who is deemed outstanding and best in their class by the department faculty.
  • Outstanding Junior Award . This award recognizes juniors who have distinguished themselves for outstanding academic achievement and potential. (Note: For the purpose of this award, "juniors" are students we expect to graduate in the academic year following the one when we consider them for the award.)
  • Jim Halstead Award . This award recognizes an Economics major (in any class) for outstanding contributions to helping others learn economics. The Department faculty selects the winner from a pool of candidates nominated by Oxy students who have taken classes in Economics.
  • Betty Tracy Award . This award is given to an Economics major (in any class) for outstanding service to the Department.
  • Robert L. Moore Award. This award recognizes the honors thesis that the department faculty judge to be of the highest quality among those awarded College Honors.
  • Departmental Honors . Seniors may receive Departmental Honors through excellent performance throughout the major, including their performance on their senior comprehensives, and approval of the department. To be considered for admission to the Honors Program, students must have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or higher both in Economics and overall by the end of their junior year.
  • Departmental Letter of Commendation . Seniors who do not receive College Honors will be considered for this recognition if they have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or higher both in Economics and overall.
  • "Pass with Distinction" on the Senior Comprehensives . Seniors will be considered for this recognition if they receive a grade of A- or above in their Senior Seminar (Economics 495).
  • Selection for membership in Omicron Delta Epsilon , the international honor society for Economics. Seniors will be eligible for selection if their academic standing is in the upper one-third of the class of graduating Economics majors.
Contact Economics
Fowler Hall